top of page

Taking My Own Advice

Taking my own advice...?

Simply stated, I SUCK at it!

I like to think I give some pretty damn-good advice (hence my future profession as a Clinical Social Worker), but when it comes to taking it myself — I'm practically incapable.

Anyways, today I gave my friend the following advice...I figured it may help someone else out there and even myself when I hit a little bump in the road.

Give it a read, hope it helps!

 

" I know u might hate me for saying this, but I really think it's something u need to consider and think about...is @ "insert health and fitness blog here* actually helping you or hurting you? In all honesty, I feel like lately ur snaps, Insta's, and posts have been pushing you to form an identity as "the health and fitness girl" again. And, as much as it may have been intended to help others I think that in some ways it's not only triggering for other ppl but for you as well! For example, eating a bunch of vegetables is NOT a meal and at the end of the day it's not even "healthy".

I used to follow hundreds of blogs like that and even had my own for a little. My ex finally said to me..." why can't u give them up. U say ur better but ur holding on to all these fitness, health bloggers like u need them and u don't. Ur scared!"

So that day I went through my entire Insta account and deleted them all and the first week I was so lost but eventually I knew he was so right. There are so many mixed messages about health when the only real one is that, health is mind, body, and spirit.

No one is healthy bc they eat all organic, no one is healthy bc they eat paleo or vegan or vegetarian.

Healthy is when ur able to balance food that fuels your body and food that fuels ur soul. Foods that u crave, that might not be "nutritional powerhouses," but make u happy and allow u to be social and enjoy life! If ur avoiding that are u really "healthy" at all? Just something to think about..."

 

xoxo Sam xoxo


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

A year ago, I decided it’s time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions..

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page